Establish the Apache Commons project

       WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
       interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
       Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
       Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of 
       Java focused reusable libraries and components.

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
       Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Commons Project",
       be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
       Foundation; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the Apache Commons Project be and hereby is
       responsible for the creation and maintenance of Java focused 
       reusable libraries and components; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Commons" be and
       hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at
       the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the
       Apache Commons Project, and to have primary responsibility for
       management of the projects within the scope of responsibility
       of the Apache Commons Project; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
       hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
       Apache Commons Project:

         * Henri Yandell                <bayard@apache.org>
         * Jochen Wiedmann              <jochen@apache.org>
         * Mario Ivankovits             <imario@apache.org>
         * Stephen Colebourne           <scolebourne@apache.org>
         * Dennis Lundberg              <dennisl@apache.org>
         * Niall Pemberton              <niallp@apache.org>
         * Martin van den Bemt          <mvdb@apache.org>
         * Oliver Zeigermann            <ozeigermann@apache.org>
         * Jörg Schaible                <joehni@apache.org>
         * Oliver Heger                 <oheger@apache.org>
         * Matt Benson                  <mbenson@apache.org>
         * Martin Cooper                <martinc@apache.org>
         * Phil Steitz                  <psteitz@apache.org>
         * Torsten Curdt                <tcurdt@apache.org>
         * Daniel Savarese              <dfs at apache.org>
         * Rory Winston                 <rwinston at apache.org>
         * Luc Maisonobe                <luc@apache.org>
         * Joerg Pietschmann            <pietsch@apache.org>
         * Dion Gillard                 <dion@apache.org>
         * Brent Worden                 <brentworden@apache.org>

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Torsten Curdt
       be appointed to the office of Vice President, Commons, to serve
       in accordance with and subject to the direction of the Board of
       Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until death,
       resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification, or until
       a successor is appointed; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Commons Project be and hereby
       is tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
       encourage open development and increased participation in the
       Commons Project; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Commons Project be and hereby
       is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
       Jakarta Project's Commons; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that all responsibility pertaining to the Commons
       sub-project encumbered upon the Apache Jakarta
       Project are hereafter discharged.

TLPResolution (last edited 2009-09-20 23:48:32 by localhost)