We need a PMC whose job is to look after the code which has no PMC and to aid with the code who have a PMC but have lost their that code's development community.

Some important memes that I think need to be baked in:

On to the resolution:

       Establish the Apache Attic Project

       WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
       interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
       Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
       Committee charged with the oversight of projects which 
       otherwise would not have oversight.

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
       Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Attic Project",
       be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
       Foundation; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the Apache Attic Project be and hereby is
       responsible for the oversight of projects which 
       otherwise would not have oversight; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the Apache Attic Project be and hereby is
       not authorized to actively develop and release the projects 
       under its oversight; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Attic" be
       and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
       serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
       of the Apache Attic Project, and to have primary responsibility
       for management of the projects within the scope of
       responsibility of the Apache Attic Project; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
       hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
       Apache Attic Project:

         * Henri Yandell             <bayard@apache.org>
         * Nóirín (Plunkett) Shirley <noirin@apache.org>
         * Rich Bowen                <rbowen@apache.org>
         * Scott Sanders             <sanders@apache.org>
         * Mads Toftum               <mads@apache.org>
         * Henning Schmiedehausen    <henning@apache.org>
         * Gianugo Rabellino         <gianugo@apache.org>
         * Sally Khudairi            <sk@apache.org>
         * Craig L Russell           <clr@apache.org>
         * Niclas Hedhman            <niclas@apache.org>
         * Vadim Gritsenko           <vgritsenko@apache.org>
         * J Aaron Farr              <farra@apache.org>
         * Jeremias Maerki           <jeremias@apache.org>
         * Ralph Goers               <rgoers@apache.org>
         * Upayavira                 <upayavira@apache.org>
         * Brett Porter              <brett@apache.org>
         * Rahul Akolkar             <rahul@apache.org>
         * Davanum Srinivas          <dims@apache.org>
         * Thomas Vandahl            <tv@apache.org>

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Some Poor Sod
       be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Attic, to
       serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
       Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
       death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
       or until a successor is appointed.

Brain dump of topics for further discussion. They were useful in getting a feel for what Attic would do.

Different types of projects:

  1. Top-level project with only one or two active PMC members, and therefore cannot do releases (need 3 PMC votes for a release).
  2. No active PMC -> Board kill.

  3. Maintenance - no active committers, but they come together to do the release (this is not Attic!).
  4. No active committers at all.
  5. Top-level project has a sub-project with one active committer - Top-level PMC can vote (this is not Attic!).

Possible examples (to test the types above):

Two ways:

Foundation concerns:

Possible steps:

Attic homepage:

What to do about trademarks?

Links of interest:

OldProjectProposal (last edited 2009-09-20 23:36:34 by localhost)